When 911 Doesn’t Work: Eugene Experiences 9-1-1 Outage 6/28

Throughout Lane county on Tuesday 9-1-1 wasn’t working. For about an hour residents in Eugene, Springfield, Creswell, Junction City, Veneta, Mohawk Valley, McKenzie, Dexter, Lowell and Pleasant Hill got a busy signal when they dialed 9-1-1. News spread quickly on social networks like Twitter and Facebook:
RT @KVALnews: 911 lines are down for Central #Lane County. Call 541 682 5111 instead. http://bit.ly/jDhOF4 #Eugene #Springfield #Oregon
LunaandLarrys
June 28, 2011
RT @KATUNews: If you’re in Eugene, Springfield or central Lane County, 911 system is not working. Call (541) 682-5111 for emergencies.
SpydrMonkee
June 28, 2011
RT @kugn590: Make sure to tell your friends about the 911 outage in Eugene/Spfld and most of Lane County. Call 541-682-5111 for emergencies.
FoxEugene
June 28, 2011
Some users simply spread the news, while others shared their opinions–
FYI:EUGENE, Ore. – Emergency 911 telephone lines are down and calls are not getting through for the Central Lane area, including Eugene, Spfld, Creswell, Junction City, Veneta, Mohawk Valley, McKenzie, Dexter, Lowell and Pleasant Hill.For emergencies, call (541) 682-5111. The problem at this point in unknown.(The emergency police number in Springfield is 541.726.3711)
Kayla Guerrero
June 28, 2011
Seriously Eugene? #fail #lanecouty #HopeForNoEmergencies RT @KMTR 911 lines are down for Central Lane. Call 541-682-5111 for emergencies
KatelynChenelle
June 28, 2011
The Eugene police made use of social media as well, using their own twitter account to keep the public updated:
911 is back in operation. Cause investigated by Qwest and 911.
EugenePolice
June 28, 2011
9-1-1 lines are down in Central Lane, including Eugene. For emergencies call 541.682.5111. Crews are working on the outage, unknown origin
EugenePolice
June 28, 2011

But some residents, like Rhonda Jennett, didn’t get the news. As she told KVAL, “I immediately got a busy signal. I grabbed another phone in the house and dialed 911 again and I got another busy signal. So I went on my cell phone, picked up the cell phone and dialed 911. It was busy.”

‘I dialed 911 again and I got another busy signal’

EUGENE, Ore. – Rhonda Jennett knew her father needed help ASAP. “It was apparent my dad was very ill,” she said. So she grabbed her phone and dialed 911. “And I immediately got a busy signal,” she said. “I grabbed another phone in the house and dialed 911 again and I got another busy signal.
The Register Guard reported that she had trouble convincing the doctor’s office that 911 was actually not working.
911 service goes down | Main News | The Register-Guard | Eugene, Oregon

Nobody had to tell Eugene resident Rhonda Jennett what to do when it became clear that her father needed an ambulance on Tuesday morning. “I knew that I needed to dial 911, so I did. And I received a busy signal,” Jennett said.

According to the article, the source of the problem is unknown and being investigated. While 9-1-1 officials say it was a problem with Qwest, Qwest says it might have been a problem with 9-1-1 upgrades.

In the event of an emergency, when 911 is down, residents should contact the police and fire department through the non-emergency line at (541) 682-5111.
In the short time it has been since the issue, there are already strong responses brewing.

One author on thesportsbrewery.com wrote ” Seriously, if this happened to me and I died because I couldn”t figure out how to get on the internet, you wouldn”t see me (*censored) up a storm about it. Some people are just stupid, can”t save em all…”

911 in Eugene Goes Down For A Couple Of Minutes. Naturally, People Start To Bitch And Moan

Register Guard. Nobody had to tell Eugene resident Rhonda Jennett what to do when it became clear that her father needed an ambulance on Tuesday morning. “I knew that I needed to dial 911, so I did. And I received a busy signal,” Jennett said.

powered by Storify

About Melissa Haskin

I laugh, I giggle. I drink two pots of coffee a day. I'm always up for exploring, be it places, food, or music.
This entry was posted in Aggregations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

