Teen Makes Smart Move to Save Her Life

Chelsea Hopkins (right) and younger sister Amanda, Credit: Faith Cathcart/The Oregonian

An attacker is still on the loose near Lincoln City.

The Oregonian reported Tuesday that local teen Chelsea Hopkins nearly escaped death over the weekend after being abducted by an armed man inside a shopping mall parking lot. The unidentified man was able to pull out of the lot in Hopkin’s car with her in the passenger seat.

Kimberly A.C. Wilson of The Oregonian reported that Hopkins remained calm while taking in her surroundings. “As soon as he was about to stop, I realized the door was unlocked and I had to do it,” Hopkins said Tuesday, recovering at home after the ordeal. “I looked toward that house and I started to sprint. I wouldn’t look back and I just ran. I kept falling, but I didn’t stop. I just kept running.”

KATU News ran it as their top story Tuesday morning. The man is still on the loose and described as a white man, 5 feet, 11 inches, weighing between 180 and 200 pounds, with short strawberry blond hair and teeth missing from the side of his mouth.

Picture of suspect, Credit: Lincoln City Police

Many locals made comments on www.oregonlive.com regarding Hopkins courage and to vent about their frustrations regarding the lack of numbers in the Lincoln City police force.

Skeeterbug posted at 7:45pm on 7/5/11:

“Lincoln City is not a huge town and was doubled or more with tourists on 4th of July weekend. Our police force does an excellent job but funding keeps everyone short of staff these days. Car accidents, people stranded on rocks, you name it happens here and in spite of our excellent police and deputy sheriffs, and State Police there are only so many officers we can spread around to protect a very large area. They are doing the best they can with what they have to work with and most of us who live here feel they are doing an excellent job. The public was notified to keep an eye out for this guy and to keep their doors locked.”
Blaster_Bot_787 responded by saying:
“The police here failed, again. They chased him into the woods where he escaped, just like Dodd’s shooter, who is also on loose because he, too, escaped in the woods. A civilian posse could do a better job than our local cops.”

About cpetrone

Hi! My name is Carly and I want to make you laugh. My main goal is to become a sitcom writer. I've recently finished my first pilot called Powder Perfect and I'm currently working on another called The Pact. Unfortunately, paying the bills is also a monthly goal that must be accomplished. That was my long winded answer of saying that I'm also a freelance writer. Please contact me at cpetronester@gmail.com for writing opportunities. You can also find me writing about my life at http://carlypea.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

