And The Em-iracle Run Comes to an End

by REED NELSON

PK Park

Sorry for the cheesy headline, I just couldn’t resist. I really couldn’t. It took everything in me not to post it, but then I realized my will power doesn’t have the same Hulk Hogan-esque strength that it used to. But then again, Hulk Hogan doesn’t have Hulk Hogan-esque strength anymore, so I guess my will power is really waning. But I apologize, I digress. The Eugene Emeralds finally lost a game, their first loss in the last 15 games. It was a bitter sweet ending to the brilliant 14 game winning streak as they got thumped to the tune of an 11-1 whooping by Vancouver.

But let’s see what has happened while the streak was rolling:

– The Willie Lyles thing took off. Cape Canaveral style.

– A Kardashian got married. Or she will. Or did one just register gifts for a wedding? I can never keep up with those girls.

– Another Pixar movie made over $100,000,000.

– The Ems’ Lee Orr hit three home runs.

– America celebrated its unofficial 235th birthday. And yes, I do count the day we decided we were no longer English as our first birthday, and I’m OK with that.

Well, now that that exercise is over, the Emeralds have picked up near where they left off, or at least in a nearby neighborhood. They bounced back from the shellacking by winning 6-2 over the Yakima Bears behind another Lee Orr home run, a three-run job to seal the deal. And although they lost a tough 3-2 game on Friday, before bouncing back on Saturday to the tune of a tight 7-6 win, again over the Bears, but this time riding a two-run game-winning fifth inning home run by Zach Kometami.

About Reed Nelson

I am a graduate student in the J-School at the University of Oregon. I worked as a prep sports stringer and a clerk at the Salt Lake Tribune in 2008, and from 2009-2010 worked in various sections at the Daily Utah Chronicle. I am currently in my first term in grad school and I am cursed with a gross obsession for sports. But not bicycle racing. No one can make me care about that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And The Em-iracle Run Comes to an End

  1. Melissa says:

    HAHA, so true: “A Kardashian got married. Or she will. Or did one just register gifts for a wedding? I can never keep up with those girls.”

Leave a Reply

